The ICC Cricket World Cup to Kickstart early today

Written by on October 6, 2023

Teseletso Matjaka


The ICC Cricket World Cup kickstarts today in India with England set to begin their title defense of the 50-over Cricket World Cup with a clash against New Zealand at Narendra Modi stadium in Ahmedabadin.

The tournament will run for 46 days and will see ten teams vying for the men’s one-day international (ODI) cricket championship in the final on November 19.

The 10 teams featured at this year’s event are India, Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka.

Zimbabwe failed to make it to this year’s competition after they were beaten by Scotland in the last game of qualifiers at Queens Sports Club in July.

The first stage of the ODI tournament will be a round-robin format where all teams will play each other once, resulting in 45 matches. The top four teams at the end of the round-robin stage will qualify for the semi-finals.

The teams finishing first and fourth will play the first semi-final on November 15 in Mumbai, while the second and third teams will meet in the second semi-final on November 16 in Kolkata.


Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track